Mere Raises A Baby

Sorry in advance, future generations!

AWW YISSS Buffalo Chicken Dip

on June 30, 2014

Alright, as promised. What I’m sharing with you is a little piece of my soul AND now that you have this recipe you also have the power to steal D away from me as it is one of his absolute favorite things in life. Ladies and gentlemen (but really just Mom bc you’re my #1 fan and only reader) I give you: Crock-Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip.

Step 1: Gather your ingredients. Super easy, you will need:
1 Awesome Crock Pot (extra points if it’s the adorable one that me and literally all your girlfriends have because TARGET!)
1.5-2 lbs of boneless/skinless chicken Do NOT use canned chicken, I am not kidding, this is not 1960, canned meat is gross.
Frank’s Red Hot – I used about 1/2 of that bottle
8 oz. cream cheese
1 pkg dry ranch mix
20140613_081655

What’s that, you say? The ranch dip is missing? Correct, you eagle-eyed reader you! The ranch dip was indeed missing that day. I had bought some and flat out couldn’t remember where I put it when I got home. #mommybrain

Step 2: Everything into the Crock Pot. Not sure if order really counts but I go chicken, sauce, cream cheese, ranch mix. And since I’m awesome you should probably do it that way too.

ABM_1404184881

Step 3: Turn that sucker on. No really, it is that simple. I usually let the Crock Pot do its thing for about 6 hours on low or 4 hours on high, your mileage may vary. Just remember that you’re using ACTUAL CHICKEN (not canned chicken, that’s gross!) so it needs to be cooked thoroughly.

Step 3B: FIND THE RANCH DIP! BE EXCITED ABOUT IT! ADD IT TO THE POT! You will probably get to skip this step because you, unlike me, probably have your shit together.

 

ABM_1404185201

 

Step 4: After about 2-3 hours start giving it a good stir every hour or so. Admittedly, it doesn’t look delicious at this point BUT I promise you it will start to smell amazing and it will taste much better than it looks. Swear!

ABM_1404185397

Step 5: Once your chicken is cooked through you need to shred it (if it hasn’t come apart already on its own). Using chicken thighs this can usually be done just with a spoon, they literally fall apart as you stir. If you’re using chicken breasts then you may need to get in there with two forks and get to work. It’s super easy, it takes like 30 seconds.

It may feel like there’s way too much liquid in the Crock Pot before you shred your chicken but fear not, once you start shredding that stuff it soaks everything up.

Step 6: Serve. I like to serve this as a dip in a bread bowl (King’s Hawaiian, obvs) but there is literally not a limit to what you can do with this. D likes to put it in a wrap or on a sammich bun (again, King’s Hawaiian). I see no problem with just grabbing a spoon and diving in but apparently that’s “not ladylike.” Also I took this to a baby shower last night and the (adorable) mama to be declared that this is delicious on top of pizza and/or hot dogs so I guess you could try that too.

ABM_1404185593

Ok that’s all. You’re done. Like $10 worth of ingredients in a slow cooker and you’ve got yourself a kick ass party dip that everyone will want the recipe for. I know because every time I make this stuff everyone wants the recipe. Go cook something.

EDIT: I kind of ballpark that this makes about 10 servings, where a “serving” is about the size of what you can scoop up with a ladle. Doubling the recipe shouldn’t be a problem, just be sure to increase cooking time. Per the MyFitnessPal app, the breakdown for the recipe goes as follows:
Serving size: 1/10 of a recipe. Calories: 297. Total fat: 22.5g. Cholesterol: 127.5mg. Sodium 2165.3mg. Total carbs: 5.3g. Protein: 21.3g. Doesn’t take in to account any bread, crackers, etc. 🙂

One response to “AWW YISSS Buffalo Chicken Dip

  1. Amy Joines says:

    sounds positively yummers!!

Discuss.

